Looking back at my exchange year #thoughts πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

It is kind of crazy to look back at a whole year and maybe write an account about this period for one last time. That certainly does not mean that I will never post anything about my time abroad again. Within that post I just want to retrospect at my exchange year again and share my thoughts of an amazing year, I will surely never forget. A time full of memories and changes. A year that could not have been more different from all the hopes and expectations that I brought along, the day I arrived in the US. It doubtlessly surpassed all my expectations. I can presumably say that it was the best year of my life so far. Of course, an exchange year is not always easy or what you expect it to be. You have to overcome difficulties as well as go through some rough times. But in the end the good times exceed and bear in one’s mind. Eventually, you forget about all the bad times you have gone through and only recall all the positive experiences. You merely remember all the awesome things that made you to the person you are today. I just realized how much change this year brought about and how much my perspective and point of view on all kind of things have broaden within this year. This year hasn’t ONLY improved my English skills. It was about way more than that. I made so many new friends from all over the world, managed to handle things on my own and how to get my act together, I got more confident, came to appreciate and be thankful for everything I got and and got out of my comfort zone many times. Furthermore I learned about a culture that happened to be totally different from my expectations, about the way people behave and most importantly about myself. I could presumably keep going for ages, but this is describing my experience pretty well. All I actually wanna say are two words. THANK YOU to everyone who has made this year so special for me and to an experience which will last for lifetime. I can’t wait to look back at all this one day. If you are a person like me who is in the same situation that I used to be in 3 years ago and has no clue whether going abroad is the right thing, in that case I am going tell you right now that you do not need to be scared of all the things this year COULD change. Personally, I can say it has only brought about positive things and my worries proved to be unjustified. I am pretty sure that you are not going to regret it. You will probably benefit from your experiences like me. Hopefully I accomplished to convey you some thoughts and insights of my period abroad. Maybe I even succeeded to inspire you to do the same thing. I have no idea when I am going to blog again but until that time: Take care!

Justus πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ 🌎 

(My NYC post is in progress)

Leave a comment